The Bandit comes from behind and win’s at Merced

By, Mark SublettMerced, CA…..The “Bandit” Scott Kinney from Citrus Heights won the Bay Cities Racing Association Lightning Sprint Non Wing main event in exciting fashion Saturday night at Merced Speedway. After spinning early the former champion used the high line to take the lead late to post another Lightning Sprint win for the veteran driver. Steve Roza from Clovis also used the high line to recover from a lap 15 spin to race second at the checkered flag with Greg Dennett finishing a solid third after leading early. Ten BCRA Lightning Sprints took the green flag in the main event where pole sitter Greg Dennett took the lead over Danika’Jo Parker at the start. Three wide racing between Terry Bergstrom, Dakota Albright and Eric Greco was seen at the front of the pack early in the going. Action slowed when Scott Kinney spun on the back straight bringing out the caution. On the restart Dennett continued to lead with Parker racing second and Albright third. After some laps run on the bottom Albright jumped up to the top and got by Parker and battled Dennett for the lead at the front of the pack and in the back Kinney was running the tricky high line and passing cars getting up to second until a spin by Roza and Brandon Leedy on lap 15 slowed the action. On the restart Albright spun out of the lead handing it to Kinney who had to hold off the challenges of Dennett to go on to win. Roza made exciting high side passes in the final laps to race second. Dennett had a strong outing racing third and Parker also had a nice run in fourth. Long time competitor Terry Bergstrom finished out the top 5. Always fast Eric Greco was fastest in time trials with a 14.401 second lap. Heat races were won by Bergstrom and Albright. Next race for the BCRA Lightning Sprints is June 5th at Placerville Speedway.

SUMMARY:BCRA Lightning Sprints – Merced Speedway

FAST TIME: Eric Greco – 14.401

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. Terry Bergstrom 2. Eric Greco 3. Scott Kinney 4. Josef Ferolito 5. Craig Swim

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 2. Dakota Albright 2. Danika’Jo Parker 3. Greg Dennett 4. Steve Roza 5. Brandon Leedy

Main (25 Laps): 1. Kinney 2. Roza 3. Dennett 4. Parker 5. Bergstrom 6. Leedy 7. Swim 8. Albright 9. Greco 10. Ferolito

Scott Kinney (25) passes Greg Dennett (47) for the lead

You may also like...